Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in


Nominate for the AIP National Executive & Women in Physics Lecturer

1 Aug 2022 12:00 PM | Anonymous
  • Nominations for positions in the AIP National Executive open until 21 Aug 2022
  • Nominations for the 2023 Women in Physics Lecturer re-opened until 16 Sep 2022

AIP National Executive

Help lead Australia’s premier society for the promotion of physics in research, education, industry and the community by joining the AIP National Executive team.

Every two years the AIP elects a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and Registrar. Any financial Member, Fellow or Honorary Fellow can be nominated for these positions.

If you’d like to submit a nomination, it should be accompanied by signed endorsements from two financial Members, Fellows or Honorary Fellows, as well as a letter of consent from the nominee.

Note that under the institute’s constitution, the current president and vice president cannot seek re-election for the same position.

To nominate, please send the documents via email to, or by mail to AIP, PO Box 480, West Ryde, NSW 1685, Australia.

The current Executive has put forward the following nominations:

  • Nicole Bell (as President)
  • Stuart Midgely (as Vice-President)
  • Kirrily Rule (as Honorary Secretary)
  • Stephen Collins (as Honorary Registrar)
  • Dongchen Qi (as Honorary Treasurer)
  • Joanna Turner (as Awards Officer)

If there are further nominations*, elections will be held in October. The new Executive will take office at the Annual General Meeting of the AIP in February next year.

*Nominations are now closed as of 1 Sep.

2023 Women in Physics Lecturer

Nominating an outstanding female physicist who will increase public awareness of the possibilities offered by studying physics and inspire future physicists for the 2023 Women in Physics Lectureship.

You may nominate a colleague or yourself. Nominations close 16 Sep.

The Women in Physics Lectureship is made annually to recognise and publicise significant contributions by a woman to advancing a field of physics. The Lecturer will receive a medal, a certificate, one year membership of the AIP, and appropriate support to provide a lecture tour across Australia.

The lecture tour will include presentations suited to range of audiences, including to high school students, non-specialist audiences, and the physics community. 

  • Eligibility criteria and how to nominate here.

Our current Women in Physics Lecturer is planetary scientist Associate Professor Katarina Miljkovic (Curtin University).

  • Read about A/Prof Miljkovic’s lecture tour ‘Impacts! Rocks from space colliding with planets’ here.
  • Read about previous Lecturer Dr Ceri Brenner’s experience in an Australian Physics magazine article here (Page 10).
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software