Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in



An Honorary Fellowship is the highest honour of the AIP and only awarded to distinguished persons intimately connected with physics, or a science allied thereto, whom the Australian Institute of Physics especially desires to honour for outstanding services in connection with that science.

Current Honorary Fellows

Name, Year Became Hon Fellow State 
Prof David Booth2003  VIC
Prof Robert Delbourgo, 2005  TAS
Dr Cathy Foley AO PSM, 2020  NSW
Prof Bruce McKellar, 2022 VIC
Prof Brian Schmidt AC, 2012  ACT

Past Honorary Fellows

 Name State   Year Became Hon Fellow  YOB-YOD 
Walter Moritz Boas  VIC 1979 1904–1982
William Stevenson Boundy  SA 1990 1922-1999
George Henry Briggs NSW 1964 1893-1987
Robert Woodhouse CromptonACT 20011926-2022
John Robert de Laeter  WA 1992  1933-2010
Arthur Frederick Alan Harper  NSW 1975  1913–1991
Anthony George Klein AM VIC   1935-2021
Herbert Raphael Lang  UK 1965  1904-1965
Keith Campbell Lang  VIC 1970  1908-1996
John Francis Nicholas  VIC  1962 1927-2017
Sir Marcus Laurence Elwin "Mark" Oliphant     1901-2000
Geoffrey Ivan Opat VIC  2002 1935-2002
Arthur Anthony Page  QLD  1991 1922–2011
John Russell Prescott SA  1991 1924-2011 
Charles Henry Brian (Bill) Priestley  VIC  1982 1915-1998
James Stanley Rogers VIC  1964 1893-1977
Alexander David Ross WA  1964 1883–1966
Brian Milton Spicer  VIC  1988 1928-2004
Robert Street WA 1992 1920-2013
John Lloyd Symonds  NSW   1924-2017
Sir Alan Walsh  VIC  1979 1916-1998 
Hugh Colin Webster  VIC  1970 1905-1979 
Sir  Frederick William White  ACT  1970 1905-1994 

If you are aware of any errors or omissions with this list, please contact the AIP. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software