Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in



The Australian Institute of Physics accredits universities across Australia, upholding the standard of physics education in Australia. The aim of accreditation is to support the universities in providing high-quality physics education. Accreditation occurs every 5 years from the date of accreditation.  Graduates with qualifications from accredited universities are automatically eligible for admission to the grade of Member of the AIP (i.e. MAIP).

If you would like to know more, please contact the AIP registrar on

Accreditation Documentation

Universities within Australia seeking accreditation of a degree by the AIP should consult the following document, here.

Accredited Universities with Physics Courses

Australian National University logo

Curtin University logo

Flinders University logo

Griffith University logo

James Cook University logo

La Trobe University logo

Macquarie University logo

Monash University logo

Murdoch University logo

Queensland University Of Technology logo

Swinburne University of Technology logo

University of Adelaide logo

University of Melbourne logo

University of Newcastle logo

UNSW Sydney logo

University of Sydney logo

University of Queensland logo

University of Southern Queensland logo

University of Tasmania logo

University of Western Australia

University of Wollongong Australia logo

RMIT University

A full list of accredited universities and courses can be found here.

Accreditation Committee

The accreditation process is overseen by the Accreditation Manager, Prof Tim McIntyre.

The current members of the Accreditation Committee are:

  • Prof Elizabeth Angstmann, University of New South Wales
  • Prof Stephen Collins, Victoria University
  • Prof Andrew Greentree, RMIT University
  • Dr Brenton Hall, Swinburne University
  • A/Prof Murray Hamilton, University of Adelaide
  • Prof John Holdsworth, Newcastle University
  • Dr Peter Jarvis, University of Tasmania
  • Prof Deb Kane, Australian National University
  • A/Prof Boris Kuhlmey, University of Sydney
  • A/Prof Nigel Marks, Curtin University
  • Prof Tim Mclntyre, University of Queensland
  • Prof Maria Parappilly, Flinders University
  • Prof Salvy Russo, RMIT University
  • Prof Martin Sevior, University of Melbourne
  • A/Prof Heiko Timmers, University of New South Wales, Canberra
  • A/Prof Jamie Trapp, Queensland University of Technology
  • Prof Jingbo Wang, University of Western Australia
  • Dr Margaret Wegener, University of Queensland
  • Prof Michael Wheatland, University of Sydney
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software