Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in



The Women in Physics Lecture Tour was established nationally in 1997 to promote the work of outstanding women in Physics and was initiated by the South Australian Branch. In South Australia it is known as the Claire Corani Memorial Lecture. In 2009 a Federal Medal was established to honour the women who had been selected to undertake these national tours and to recognise them for their time and dedication to communicating their research to academics, students and the general public.

The award is made annually to recognise and publicise significant contributions by a woman to advancing a field of physics and to inspire future physicists.

The award recipient will receive a medal, a certificate, one year membership of the AIP, and appropriate support to provide a lecture tour across Australia.

The lecture tour is expected to include presentations suited to a range of audiences, including school lectures, public lectures and research colloquia (subject to negotiation with the various AIP branches and their contacts). School and public lectures are expected to be of interest to non-specialist physics audiences, and to increase awareness among students and their families of the possibilities offered by continuing to study physics. University lectures will be presented at a level suitable for the individual audience (professional or graduate).

Australian Physics (page 10)

Eligibility Requirements

Nominees for this award must:

  • have made a significant contribution in a field of physics research;
  • demonstrated ability to present their work to the general public;
  • be available to undertake the lecture tour;
  • if successful, be prepared to provide a brief report to the AIP Executive on their experiences of the tour once the tour has been completed; be prepared to publish their report in Australian Physics and present an invited talk at the next AIP Congress or Summer Meeting.
  • The nominee may be nominated by a Proposer or may self-nominate.

Nomination Process

Completion of the WIP Lecture Tour Nomination FormThis nomination form requires the nominee to provide:
  • a one sentence citation capturing the nature of the work, as well as a nomination citation (no more than 300 words) that outlines the nominee’s significant contributions to physics and evidence of her ability to give a lecture which will excite an enthusiastic response in senior secondary and undergraduate students;
  • a title for the proposed public lectures as well as an abstract (no more than 200 words) that briefly summarises the nominee’s lecture topic. This is to be written for a scientifically literate lay person. This will be used for promotion/certificates if the nominee is successful;
  • a biography for the lecturer (to be used for advertising – no longer than 200 words);
  • confirmation of the nominee’s availability for the lecture tour;
  • the names and email addresses of two referees who can attest to the ability of the nominee to give lectures appropriate for the target audience;
  • the nominee’s CV outlining significant contributions to physics with references to key publications in which these contributions were presented.

Assessment Criteria

The applicant will be selected based on:
  • the excellence and impact of the nominee’s record of presentations to the general public, schools and media;
  • evaluation of the evidence of the nominee’s ability to give a lecture which will excite an enthusiastic response in senior secondary and undergraduate students;
  • significance of the nominee’s contribution to physics and the publication record.

Further Information

Nominations close: 1 June each year.

The tour is undertaken in the subsequent year to the application.

Submissions should be emailed to: and must include the nomination form.

If you would like to learn more about the lecturer experience, you can find a report by previous lecturer Dr Ceri Brenner (2018) published in volume 55, issue 6,  Australian Physics (page 10).

Only one lecturer will be selected each year.

Previous AIP Women in Physics Lecturers

  • 2024 Prof Susan Coppersmith FAA FAIP, School of Physics, UNSW Sydney
  • 2023 Dr Karen Livesey, School of Information and Physical Sciences, The University of Newcastle
  • 2022 A/Prof Katarina Miljkovic, School of Earth and Planetary Science, Curtin University
  • 2021 A/Prof Susanna Guatelli, University of Wollongong
  • 2019 Dr Helen Maynard-Casely, ANSTO
  • 2018 Dr Ceri Brenner, Central Laser Facility, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK
  • 2017 Dr Katie Mack, University of Melbourne
  • 2016 Dr Catalina Oana Curceanu, Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati dell’INFN, Italy
  • 2015 A/Prof Jodie Bradby, Australian National University
  • 2014 Professor Sheila Rowan, University of Glasgow
  • 2013 Professor Elisabetta Barberio, School of Physics, University of Melbourne
  • 2011 Dr Tamara Davis, School of Mathematics and Physics, University of Queensland
  • 2010 Professor Elizabeth Winstanley, Dept of Applied Mathematics, University of Sheffield
  • 2009 A/Prof. Christine Charles, Space Plasma, Power & Propulsion Group, Australian National University
  • 2007 – 2008 Prof. Tanya Monro, School of Chemistry and Physics, University of Adelaide.
  • 2006 Prof. Deb Kane, Physics Department, Macquarie University.
  • 2005 Prof. Helen Quinn, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, Menlo Park, CA, USA
  • 2004 Dr. Nanda Dasgupta, Department of Nuclear Physics, Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering, Australian National University
  • 2003 Prof. Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop, School of Physical Sciences, The University of Queensland
  • 2002 A/Prof. Lidia Morawska, School of Physical and Chemical Sciences, Queensland University of Technology
  • 2001 Dr. Gabriela Gonzalez, Department of Physics, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • 2000 Dr. Michelle Simmons, School of Physics, UNSW Sydney
  • 1999 Prof. Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Open University, UK
  • 1998 Dr. Christine Davies, Department of Physics & Astronomy, University of Glasgow, UK
  • 1997 Dr. Rachel Webster, School of Physics, University of Melbourne

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software