Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in


Aus physics in six commissions after the 30th IUPAP General Assembly

1 Nov 2021 10:32 AM | Anonymous

Australia has secured representation in six commissions of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) after delegates attended the 30th IUPAP General Assembly on 20-22 October.

Commissions promote the objectives of the IUPAP within their areas of expertise as well as providing advice to the Union on the activities and needs of the subfields of physics they represent.

The AIP, in coordination with the Australian Academy of Science’s National Committee for Physics, sent out a delegation to the virtual General Assembly that included Sven Rogge (UNSW, AIP President). Nicole Bell (UniMelb, AIP Vice President), Judith Dawes (Macquarie), and Jacinda Ginges (UQ).

That Australia is represented in six commissions is a good result since it is above the nominal representation of four positions.

The Australian commission members are:

  • C11 – Particles and Fields - Nicole Bell (UniMelb)
  • C14 – Physics Education - Manjula Sharma (USyd)
  • C15 - Commission on Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics - Igor Bray (Curtin)
  • C17 - Commission on Laser Physics and Photonics - Judith Dawes (Macquarie)
  • C18 - Commission on Mathematical Physics - Jan de Gier (Uni Melbourne)
  • C20 - Commission on Computational Physics - Derek Leinweber (Uni Adelaide)

More details on IUPAP commissions here.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software