Physics Education Group (PEG)

The Physics Education Group (PEG) of the AIP provides a forum for the advancement of physics education through research and practice. It is also responsible for the education stream at the biennial AIP congress.

Terms of Reference

  • to advise the National AIP Council on educational matters
  • to be responsible for the Education program at National Congresses
  • to provide a communication channel by which AIP members in each state, concerned about Physics Education, can communicate with each other, on educational issues
  • to develop a network of university physics societies to benefit undergraduate and postgraduate students
  • to encourage State branches to conduct special workshops on science education and in-service training courses for teachers
  • to have a special concern for the popularisation of science
  • to be aware of what is happening in Physics Education outside of Australia, and to investigate the possibility of bringing workshop speakers from interstate/overseas
  • to establish an on-line resource for physics teachers around Australia
  • to develop a program of activities and support for teachers of physics in both the secondary and tertiary sectors
  • to provide feedback to high school teachers on the strengths and weaknesses of the current curriculum materials
  • to ensure that at each Congress there is at least one overseas Physics Education plenary speaker, sponsored by the national AIP
  • to advise the Congress committee on the names of suitable Physics Education plenary speaker.


AIP Education Medal

The AIP Prize for a significant contribution to University Physics Education in Australia by an AIP member was proposed as an initiative of the Physics Education Group at the 2000 AIP Congress in Adelaide. Its purpose is to emphasise the importance of University Physics Education in Australia and is awarded each two years at the AIP Congress.  For conditions and other details of the Award please click here.


Reports of Previous Meetings

Annual Reports

Annual General Meeting Minutes


PEG Contacts

PEG Committee

Convenor / Secretary David Hoxley La Trobe University
Deputy Convenor / Treasurer Margaret Wegener University of Queensland
ACT representative David Low Australian Defence Force Academy
NSW representative John Furst University Of Newcastle
Qld representative Margaret Wegener University of Queensland
SA representative Maria Parappilly Flinders University
Tas representative Simon Ellingsen University of Tasmania
Vic representative Scott Daniel Swinburne University of Technology
WA representative Geoff Swan Edith Cowan University